That blah time between Fall and Winter

So it’s chilly enough outside that the kids need to bundle up when they go outside but the fun white stuff isn’t on the ground yet.  With this in-between weather I find it harder to get the kids out for fresh air as they seem to be at a loss for what to do.  Summer toys are all packed away, Mommy says I can’t stick my tongue to anything metal and the extra puffiness of the winter coat throws off the balance while riding bikes.  Fun times!!

I have decided not to push outside time during this bleak nothing weather but a few weeks ago I found myself asking for it to please let it snow soon!

For some reason I think girls are easier when it comes to entertaining themselves.  My 5 year old will colour, paint and cut paper into a million little pieces onto my kitchen floor for hours.  She can swing on the playset in the backyard until her face is red and numb.  I have even taught her the fine art of unloading the cutlery from the dishwasher.  Perhaps next week we can work on perfecting her mopping skills.

My 7 year old son is thankfully in school full time because he is much harder to keep off the electronics. He does have a fond love of reading and LEGO is one of his best friends…well until his little sister enters the room like King Kong and destroys the creations.  Bratty (but extremely cute) little sisters is a whole other post!

We have found that night time family walks to look at Christmas lights is getting us outside time right now and I must say I LOVE it!  It’s a time that we are all together without the distraction of the phone, tv and chores around the house.  We walk hand in hand and get to talk and giggle.  We get to hear silly made up stories, we vote on our favourite lights of the night and we just enjoy being together.  Our kids ask when we are heading out for our walk which makes my heart smile because I know they enjoy it as much as we do.

So that Blah time between Fall and Winter….thank you for getting my family out for our nighttime silly walks that we all truly love and look forward to.  I can’t wait for what fun the snow will bring but perhaps it can hold off until Christmas Eve!

Leave a Reply

