Why my Kids Love Ontario Pioneer Camp

It’s always fun to get a kid’s perspective on things, so I thought it would be fun to get my 5 year old daughter and 7 year old son‘s feedback on what they liked about our recent visit to Ontario Pioneer Camp (OPC) in Haliburton.  Also be sure to read our full retell of our awesome weekend at OPC as a family here!

  IMG_5027

Why were you excited to go to OPC?

I was excited because I really wanted to meet new friends

I really wanted to go so I could try archery

What did you think when you first arrived at OPC?

I was really happy we were there even though I was tired from the long car ride.  The show at the Crow‘s Nest was cool and so was the campfire with s’mores

I thought that it was going to be fun! I saw that there were cabins and it was really big.

What was your room like?

The room was big and had bunk beds.  I slept on the bottom so I wouldn’t fall out. The bathroom had a shower

Our room was cozy.  It had bunk beds and a desk. Oh and we all got camp shirts!

IMG_7106

What your favourite part of the shows?

The Crow’s Nest is a cool building for shows.  I like the 3 Little Pigs and all the Mommys and Daddys being funny. 

The camp councillors acting silly…throwing balls in each others faces and dumping water on each other.  The songs they taught us were fun.  

What was your favourite thing you ate?

Ice cream sundaes

Pancakes

Note from Mom…The food was awesome and healthy despite their faves! 😉

IMG_7101

What did you think of the following activities?

Archery

It was good.  I think I was really good at it

It was awesome because you get to use a bow and arrow and i’ve always wanted to do that.

IMG_7056

Crafts

I was really excited to do the crafts because I am really really good at crafts

They were cool

IMG_7044

Low Ropes  Course

It was hard but fun

Epic obstacle course

IMG_7080

Rock Climbing Wall

It was really easy because they put gear on you and they helped pull me up

I thought it was really high but really cool.

IMG_7059

Canoeing in the war canoes across Clearwater Lake

It was really peaceful and quiet

Pretty long and there were a LOT of people in one canoe. 

1003253_522632767803372_1124010163_n

Fire Blazers game

That was my favourite part because they had water balloons

It was really fun.  Even the parents had fun

Going down the big water slide at the Girl’s camp

It was really fast and I had no goggles on so I got water in my eyes.  It was fun but cold

The water looked too cold for me so I just watched

What was your favourite activity?

I really liked doing the rock climbing and crafts

Archery

Were the campfires fun?

Thumbs up!  Good for roasting marshmallows and I loved the campfire stories

S’mores were yummy.  I thought it was cool that they lit the big fire on the beach by using a flaming arrow

IMG_7033

What did you like about the Beach area?

We could swim and build sand castles.  There were canoes and they set fire works off from a canoe at night time. 

There was beach volleyball, canoes you could ride in and they had tons of life jackets.

1005053_522633717803277_35874883_n

Can you tell me about the Camp Staff…

They were all lots of fun.  Stitch did Gangnum style on stage cause he loved camp so much.  They did a funny show the first night.  They were so nice

They are all funny.  They were kind because you could tell they liked kids a lot.

IMG_5031

Did camp make you sleepy?

YEP…a little bit

No not that much

Note from Mom…Both were asleep the minute their heads hit the pillow!

IMG_4950

What do you love about OPC?

I had a fun time and made new friends

There was so much to do and lots of outside time.  I also liked trying new things

What would you do to show how much you love camp?

I would eat a hot pepper

I would let people throw water balloons at me

What would you like to say to the staff at OPC?

Thank you for inviting us!

Thank you all for being so much fun.  I LOVE camp!

What would you like other kids to know about OPC?

You should go there because it is a lovely place. When they ring the big bell you have to come running because it means it’s time to eat or change activities.

OPC is a wonderful place because it has nice staff, you can make new friends and it’s a lot of fun

IMG_7079

Would you like to go to OPC as a camper?  Why?

Yes because it is really fun and I really liked the beach.  I liked everything

Yes…yes I would!  I really think it would be fun to be with kids my age.

3 responses »

  1. I love the idea of interview your kids for their opinion. I have asked my kids to write a short post to tell me about how much fun they had but they’ve been to busy with school work. It will be up soon enough!

    It was great meeting you. Please keep in touch. BTW, I liked your FB page!

    Reply
  2. Great meeting you and your kids as well!!! My kids loved me interviewing them because they can’t stop talking about camp! 🙂 Can’t wait to read your kid’s feedback

    Reply
  3. Pingback: HELP!! My baby is going to sleep away camp for the first time! | Vacationing with Kids

Leave a Reply

