The Finality of it all Makes me a Little Sad

So as I’m writing this, I am sitting in a clinic waiting for my husband to come out from having a vasectomy. (Insert groan from all men here). As I sit here and wait I can’t help but feel a little bit sad with the finality of it all.

Once we had our 2nd child we said we would wait 5 years until we made the final decision on whether we were done having kids or not. The 5 years came and we both agreed that we were happy with having just the two kids and that there was no way we wanted to go back to sleepless nights and diapers.

Having both agreed that we were done and he was going to go for the procedure why do I feel like crying? Is it the fact that he is giving up his “manhood”? (He’ll be happy I threw that in) Is it that I know that we will never hold a new baby of our own? Because we have closed a chapter in our lives?

Whatever the reason, most of all I am so thankful for the two beautiful children we have and the great life we have together!

How did you feel when your hubby went for a vasectomy or did you have your tubes tied? How did you decide who had the procedure?

Leave a Reply

